Back to the Daily Grind

After a 2 week hiatus of ‘water throwing’ and Songkran celebrations…it was back to the daily grind today. Honestly when I say daily grind, the first thing that comes to mind is a hot cup of jo’ and the small cafe from my college hometown. And in hindsight, my daily grind was all I wanted when that alarm screamed at 6am this morning.

I’d like to think I don’t like Mondays. You have an entire week to count down until Friday, work to take care of, and still stressing over the fact it’s only just Monday. But today, things were looking up. I’d enjoyed my 2 week break, but I was happy to start fresh. Over break it was island cocktails, midnight snacks, and lazy days (minus the water throwing of course). I decided today to aim for healthier eating, more activity, and ultimately getting back into the flow of things. Not a diet – although I am one of the many who will splurge on cake Sunday night, claiming Monday begins ‘healthy eating’.

Gearing up to make some fajitas for dinner with my fresh cut veggies ~ courtesy of school vendors!

Lucky for me, vendors line the school corridor every Monday and I was more than happy to snatch a few veggies after school today. I survived the dreaded Monday back ~ I was over and out, school bag & veggies in hand. And then I hear it -“Miss Rachel, Miss Rachel”! I whirl around only to find chocolate cake in my face leftover from a student’s birthday party. It took me all of 2 seconds to grab a slice and with a huge smile say, “Aw thank you so much…and I was trying to be healthy”. I swear there’s a cake in that school everyday. I’m doomed!

I decided to save my chocolate cake for after dinner and enjoy the ripe apple slices I had just purchased for a healthy afternoon snack. Perfect with peanut butter 🙂

Real quick – here’s a quick recap of our Easter Dinner last night!

Deviled Eggs & Grilled Ham & Cheese Sandwich

Thanks to this recipe from the Food network, I made deviled eggs for the first time ever (scary thought). But they turned out better than expected. And instead of finding a mound of ham to cook for just the 2 of us, we decided grilled ham & cheese would be a nice substitute. Alright enough of this food filled post, I’m off to scour the latest wedding trends hittin’ the scene. Hope your Monday is off to a good start!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

