Cook much?

One more day until the big water festival in Pattaya! We’ve been busy cooking and baking treats for Songkran. Last night for dinner Stephen cooked a delicious Thai Pork & Cashew dish. The orange-ginger marinade made it all come together.

Probably one of the best marinades I’ve tasted and I highly recommend trying it! It had a sweet & spicy kick which was perfect. We enjoyed it with pork, although chicken would be just as tasty!

Orange & Ginger Marinade:

  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tbs soy sauce
  • 1tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 3 tbs brown sugar
  • 2 tbs peanut butter
  • 2 tsp minced fresh ginger root

We drizzled the left-over marinade over the rice and pork!

Yesterday I was busy making Almond Cinnamon Fudge to give out as Songkran treats. I used this recipe and added chopped almonds to the mix.

The almonds gave the fudge a nice crunch!

Next up? Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake! The fudge was made to give out to others…the cheesecake, however, was for us! Stephen’s never been a dessert fanatic like me but two things that he happens to really like? Cheesecake and Creme de menthe brownies. So I was so excited when I found a recipe that combined the two!

Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake:

  • 8 oz. package cream cheese
  • 8oz. package mascarpone cheese
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract

Mix all ingredients! I poured the mixture into a pre-made chocolate pie crust (Although you can also mix butter and chopped chocolate cookies for your own crust version). Finally I chopped up 2 mint cookies and sprinkled over top my cheesecake. Let it refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Wallah! So easy and no baking required!

I haven’t been very “dressed to dish” recently with all the water craziness from Songkran – but I was proud of my cheesecake and wanted to snap a pic πŸ™‚

Well, wish us luck! Tomorrow is Pattaya’s huge water day – basically everything shuts down and everyone is out celebrating the new year by ‘throwing water’!

3 Responses

  1. […] Cook much? Β« Dressed to Dish Next up? Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake The fudge was made to give out to others…the cheesecake, however, was for us! Stephen's never been a dessert fanatic like me but two things that he happens to really like? Cheesecake and Creme de . […]

  2. Have fun celebrating the new year and throwing water tomorrow! πŸ™‚ Your cheesecake looks delicious and I love your necklace!

  3. Oh my gooodness!! Please cook and bake for me when you move back home? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

