Home-Made from Start to Finish

For the past two days I have been lucky enough to enjoy a tasty Greek salad and home-made bread for lunch. Shirley, whom I work with at school, whipped up a colorful & healthy Greek Salad yesterday. It was full of ripe tomatoes, feta cheese, yellow peppers & olives, with a little bit of olive oil to drizzle on top. It was simply divine πŸ™‚ As if this wasn’t good enough, there was fresh home-made bread to pair with it. This was by far the best home-made bread I think I have ever had. I often help out in kindergarten with Jane – who’s husband made the most amazing bread from their bread maker at home. Along with other ingredients, he combined honey, yogurt & fennel. So good!

Yesterday I made a few buys from some local vendors at school. This week’s purchase included: fresh eggplant, lettuce, mango, & home-made apple turnovers (I can never walk away without a lil something sweet).

Finally to complete my day of home-made food from start to finish, Stephen cooked Mexican Style Burgers for dinner last night. Over the weekend I made my own Guacamole mixture, which went perfect!

Guacamole Recipe:

  • 2 avocados
  • 1 diced tomato
  • 1 ear of corn
  • 1 seedless red chili
  • A few drops of lime juice

We decided to go bunless πŸ˜‰ So along with my guacamole mixture, tomatoes, small red chilis & a fried egg on top, this burger combo has been probably one of our best creations. Well I’ll have to give Stephen all the credit. Since my guacamole was made in advance, I was able to sit back & relax and enjoy all the yummy smells coming from the kitchen πŸ™‚

Ready to chow down!


I love how you can still see the steam coming from the fried egg. This was DEE-licious!

3 Responses

  1. It’s only 9:45 and after reading this I’m ready to eat!! I’m stealing the guca recipe fo’ sho’! πŸ˜‰

    • It’s soooo yummy! Just make sure your avocados are soft, I learned the hard way a few weeks ago haha.

  2. I love your burger picture! I honestly think its your best food photography yet! Looks so good! I love the chilies cooked into the egg.

Leave a Reply

