Domestic Diva

This afternoon the GYM was calling my name especially after Home-made Mac n’ Cheese last night (not to mention we’re having leftovers tonight). So while leftovers were on the menu, I knew I would need a little something to eat after the gym. I’ve been wanting to make Bruschetta for a long time now…and I finally did it! We had all the ingredients in our kitchen so I figured I’d do some experimenting with what we had.

My Bruschetta mixture!

Bruschetta Recipe:

  • 1 Tomato diced
  • A sprinkle of Dried Chili Powder
  • 2 Tbs. of whole basil
  • A sprinkle of Garlic Salt
  • A few drops of Lime Juice
  • 2 Tsp Balsamic Dressing

I mixed all of my ingredients in a bowl and then heated it in the microwave for about 20 seconds. I immediately put it on thin slices of toasted french bread. Annnd Oh – my – goodness – this appetizer will definitely be making a repeat! Stephen and I finished it off in just a few minutes 🙂

Okay so why the “Domestic Diva” title you ask? Well I came home from work, taking off all my jewelry as usual and realized I love wearing them – so why not wear them while I cook? I first got the image of a 50’s housewife in my head as they often wore pearls while in the kitchen. But I came to the conclusion I feel more excited & happy to cook in my jewelry verses my usual t-shirt/shorts combo. Why? I don’t know…same reason some girls like cooking in their stilettos. So while I had planned on taking a picture holding my new Bruschetta Combo, the camera was just too far away from where we were currently devouring each slice….you gotta pick your battles 😉 So in an effort to show off my domestic diva side, what’s a better way to display those jewels than to hold up some leftover Mac n’ Cheese!

Besides our tubs of leftover Mac n' Cheese, I love my peacock earrings! We agreed on NO anniversary gifts after 2 previous Birthdays, but how can a girl say no to these? 🙂

And as promised, here’s my recipe!

Home-made Mac n’ Cheese:

  • 2 cups macaroni noodles
  • 1 & 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded colby cheese
  • 1 cup shredded white cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup cooked broccoli
  • 1/4 cup sauteed diced onions
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 2 tbs flour
  • 1/2 cup cornflakes (you’ll see!)

After cooking my noodles, I set them aside in a strainer. In a pot on medium heat, I mixed my butter and flour. I added my milk and waited until it began to bubble from the heat before adding my cheese. I poured both cups of cheese in and let it sit in the pot, occasionally giving it a stir. Once it became thick and creamy, I added my noodles, broccoli, & onions. I used about 1/4 cup of the cornflakes, mashing them up in my hand before adding them to the mixture. This gives a nice crunch to the macaroni as if it were baked.

Before serving I mashed up the rest of the cornflakes on top of each dish. The nice warm crunch gives off a baked casserole “taste” to it. Perfect for people who have no desire (or willpower) to wait 25 more minutes for it to bake in the oven! Enjoy! 🙂

7 Responses

  1. Love the peacock earrings…and will definitely have to try the mac n’cheese recipe!

    • It’s so yummy! I’m excited to try more cheese combos 🙂

  2. You make a gorgeous domestic diva! I love the idea! I think I may just try it sometime soon. Thank you for the fun idea 🙂

  3. Peacocks becoming a recurrent theme 🙂

    • I think we’re becoming obsessed! But for good reason 🙂

  4. OMG, looks delish!!!

  5. 2 things

    1. The mac and cheese looks AMAZING!

    2. You are so cute! I love your domestic diva-ness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

