“And the Oscar goes to…”

Mushrooms, Tomatos, Carrots, Chilis, Green Beans, Peppers, Potatoes...& some Apple Cake 🙂

After a weekend full of greasy food, margaritas, & probably too many chocolate truffles, I was happy to buy a basket full of fresh produce today! I may have mentioned before that our school has local vendors set up shop at school, selling fresh produce, home-made specialties, & various spices. Today was the first day I took full advantage of this opportunity, filling up our fridge with lots of colorful & healthy food for the week. I confess, I did buy a small loaf of apple cake that may turn into a quick breakfast tomorrow morning 🙂

 

I wanted to take a quick second to share our Chocolate Truffle Recipe from yesterday. After several tried attempts, we finally perfected it to our liking…okay major liking.

Chocolate Truffle Recipe

  • 1 cup chocolate semisweet chocolate chips (dark, white, or milk chocolate)
  • 1/2 can condensed milk
  • Tbs. Butter
  • Tsp. Vanilla
  • Toppings ( we used peanut M&M’s, sprinkles, & cashews)

Heat & mix all ingredients in a double boiler and then let the mixture chill in the fridge until firm. Roll into balls and coat with toppings!

Truffle Toppings!

Now it’s SHOWTIME!

Alright folks, I’m off to watch the Oscars! I was not a happy camper when I had to wake up and go to work this morning, knowing the other side of the world was just tuning in to watch it. But thankfully, there is a rerun of the Oscars airing in t-minus 10 minutes! So while many of you have already picked your best dressed list, I’m excited to see who makes mine!

9 Responses

  1. When it’s warm out, a Farmer’s Market sets up on campus! I never took advantage of it last semester, but this will be different come May! 🙂 I can’t wait to see who’s Oscar outfits you loved!

    • Ah yes I loved your best dressed list! I’m so glad people set up shop at school to sell veggies & fruit…so convenient!

  2. I absolutely love the farmer’s market! There is always one by the Path station in Jersey City, but not til the weather gets warm. Once it opens, I know spring has really arrived! Hope you enjoyed the Oscars – my fave was Mila Kunis! She is simply gorgeous.

    • She was one of my faves too! I loved her dress and the color!

  3. I agree. I lovee weekend indulgences, but getting back into the swing of things on Monday always feels good. 🙂

    I’m also a fan of Mila’s dress. In my humble opinion, it was the best by far!

    • I think I have to agree about Mila’s dress too! And weekend indulgences are the best 🙂

  4. That’s awesome that your school sets up a farmer’s market! I need my school to do that!! 😉

  5. Such cute truffles!

  6. […] used lots of fresh veggies in this salad from my purchase earlier this week at school Guess who comes again tomorrow to school? Yes! Some local food vendors […]

Leave a Reply

