“The Sweetness of Doing Nothing”


Today is a school holiday and after you read this post, you will see how I took full advantage of my day off. My day was spent on the couch in comfy clothes, comfort food at my reach, and a DVD player full of chick flicks & Disney movies. As I prepared for a full day, I ended up becoming completely inspired by Eat Pray Love, only to rewind back over numerous scenes and lines that I love from this movie. The vibe I get from watching this movie is all about inspiration and letting go of your guilts (Food included!) in life.

With that being said I took a quick break for lunch! Grilled PB&J Sandwich, YUM.

Oh my word, I may not be able to go back to eating room temperature PB&J's!

Okay, back to the movie. Let me just say one of my favorite scenes is when Julia Robert’s character Liz, eats spaghetti in Italy, as a woman sings opera in the background. I think I have heard that same lady sing in my head when I sit down to dinner occasionally (for the sheer fact that I’m excited to eat).

Here are some Inspiring & Hilarious – yet SO TRUE Quotes that I love from this Movie:

  • “We call it “dolce far niente”, the sweetness of doing nothing.”
  • “Maybe you’re a woman in search of a word.”
  • “I’m so tired of saying no and then waking up in the morning and recalling every single thing I ate the day before, counting every calorie I consume so I know exactly how much self loathing to take into the shower. I’m going for it. I have no interest in being obese, I’m just through with the guilt.”

    Indulge in life!

By the time the credits were rolling, I had written several pages of notes on this movie… (Never mind the fact that I was asking myself if I had ever been this dedicated on any school documentary in college). In the end, Liz (Julia Robert’s character) figures out her word is “Attraversiamo” which means “let’s cross over”. While I’m not on a journey exactly like the one in the movie, I feel like I can relate in some way (never mind the love for food) as I am taking a year to experience a different culture, lifestyle, and way of life in Thailand (not to mention my first time leaving the States). I love the idea of having a word that sums me up – until I figure out what my word is, I don’t mind being on the search for one!

After listening to all the Italian music, language and talk of pizza & pasta throughout the movie – you would think I would be cooking something with an Italian flare tonight! But I already have plans to make a Pineapple-filled Chicken Fried Rice, just like this one I ordered a few nights ago!

Here we go folks! I waited to put this post up until after I had made my Pineapple Chicken Fried Rice! So good!

First? Scooped out my Pineapple!

Next? Sauteed my onion, garlic, chilis, carrots, & cashews!

Everything put together! I added my chicken, fried egg, rice & soy sauce...YUM.

This is definitely a dish I plan on fixing again! I searched the internet and combined various ingredients to make my own version of chicken fried rice. Delicious! T.G.I.F! 🙂

Were you inspired by the movie/book EAT PRAY LOVE? Do you have a WORD that sums you up or are you still searching?

5 Responses

  1. I LOVED Eat, Pray, Love and was totally inspired by it. The quote during the pizza scene about “being tired of saying no” was my “aha” moment in the movie. It makes perfect sense to me! And you’re inspiring just like her – you’re on a journey that is so fantastic. Cory and I were talking about you and Cush yesterday and how we admire the both of you. Everyone talks about wanting to do something like you’re doing – but no one has the guts to just DO IT. You’re awesome!

    • Yes I LOVED that scene too…just dont want to have to go up a size in jeans like she did haha!

  2. I am still reading the book, but want to see the movie when I am done!

    Got your pics little! Will you message me your email address?

  3. Oh and your pineapple fried rice looks so delicious!

    • Aw thanks! I must say after it was all said and done, I was pretty proud of myself for attempting to make this!

Leave a Reply

