Stepping out of my Comfort Zone

 

Probably my "ideal face" for stepping out of my Comfort Zone

Since I’ve started my blog Dressed to Dish, I have come to realize how much more effort and creativity I put into my food and fashion choices. In a way, my blog has helped me step out of my comfort zone and try new things – whether it’s cooking something new or trying out a new fashion trend (along with improving my photography skills). Like I’ve said before, while I LOVE food and fashion, I am certainly not an expert in either category. But by creating Dressed to Dish, I find myself becoming more knowledgeable and daring within the realms of the fashion and food world.

Stepping out of my Comfort Zone!

 

Extending my fashion limits!

 If I were back home, I probably would have never gone for this style of pants. But these cotton thai pants are all the rage right now in Thailand. Teachers wear these to school and I’ve been envious of their comfy, yet chic style – until now! I finally found the source – a teacher’s husband who often brings back lots of goodies from Bangkok will set up shop occasionally at school and sell what he’s found. These pants come in lots of different colors and patterns. I chose a floral design with reds and greens. I topped it with a black shirt and necklace. I love it!

Definitely bright!

Believe it or not, I have never had my nails painted red…unless it was to play “dress-up” as a kid. I have always hesitated on the color red. Why? I’m not too sure. I always played it safe with light pink or clear colors. Red is a very bold and bright color so I always steered away. Finally, over the weekend I got my nails painted red for the first time EVER (whether it was because my Thai manicurist strongly insisted is another story). But then I thought, how can I have a blog titled Dressed to Dish, and never had red nails?! Perhaps it’s myFebruary Fever kickin’ in. 🙂

Definitely stepping out of my comfort zone!

I like most seafood, but some things I just can’t handle. Squid is one of them. It may be the tentacles I see at first glance – not what I’m usually craving. Stephen’s Aunt Jeep encouraged me to try one bite…okay not as bad as I thought. But I still don’t think I’ll be ordering it again anytime soon.

As far as FOOD & FASHION, have you stepped out of your comfort zone recently and tried something new?

4 Responses

  1. Love the pants and red nails! Not sure I would like the squid!

  2. The picture of you, Cush and the elephant put such a big smile on my face! It’s so cute! And I LOVE those pants! I want a pair! I don’t think I’ll be finding them at the local Ann Taylor or Gap, but I’ll keep my eyes peeled 🙂

  3. Rachel, those pants are so cute I’m thinking you could make some money by importing them to the 804!

    • Cute & comfy! Yes I may just have to do that, I’ve already received several requests!

Leave a Reply

