New Surroundings!

I’m back! I took a break from posting to adjust to a new lifestyle and somewhat of a culture shock to what I have been accustomed to. Having recently graduated college, I was given the opportunity to travel for a year with my fiance before life took a hold of us. While many of you already know, I have recently moved half way around the world to Thailand, a country with so many incredible sights to see, not to mention a very rich culture. But what I love most are the gorgeous hand-made clothes and delicious food that it is so well-known for. Anyone who knows me, knows I love to shop. In the U.S, I am used to going into a store and paying for an overpriced item simply because I feel like I can’t live without it. As I am exploring my way around Thailand and learning different customs, I have learned that in many local shops you can bargain any price. Needless to say, my shopping obsession has risen to another level. Aside from fashion, the food is amazing, some of the best being cooked from a vendor right on the street. There are many fresh markets and vendors on every street selling everything from fresh fruit to grilled seafood, and obviously some of Thailand’s most renowned dishes like Pad Thai.

My fiance and I recently went to a Christmas party where my eye was caught by the incredible clothes worn. The range of fashion included everything from fancy hair pieces to vibrant hand-made silk dresses to intricate detailed jewelry. I admired three women (pictured above) who wore gorgeous gold dresses that matched perfectly to the evening’s decor, ultimately winning a prize for their fashionable dresses. I also managed to snap a picture with my favorite outfit of the night (pictured below). The staple of her outfit was none other than her amazing hair piece which was taller than me…pretty tall. Immediately after leaving the party, my thought process was “bargain shop, bargain shop, bargain shop”. I think I’m secretly hoping to get invited to a fancy party where beautiful handmade thai dresses are the dress code.  I can’t wait to explore more of this amazing fashion and food filled country that I love so much.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

